How to Undo the Sending of Mails on Gmail

You’ve probably seen it: in the middle of a mail, you suddenly hit the submit button before you have obtained written finished! “Oh, no! I was, after all, does not even come to the point “But it is too late. The message has already been sent to the Chief, or an important business relationship – as after the incoherent and confused message most likely will select a different partner for future projects. Sent is sent, and there is not much you can do about the matter. It doesn’t help much to throw your computer out the window or hope that the floor will open up and the entire office disappears down into the hole.

Fortunately, there are now a resort! It is, in fact, been possible to undo the sending of packets sent Google-mail! You have to be very quick on the trigger in order to use this tricks, but the most important thing is that possibility now exists – and that you remember to change the settings.

Returned mail, come back!

Error mail

This “cancel button” host available in Gmail Labs for six years already, but it is only now that the possibility is open for all.

What you need to do in order to be able to take advantage of Google’s “undo button”?

  1. Log in to your Gmail account
  2. Press the button with the setting wheel on the top right
  3. Select options from the menu
  4. Scroll down until you find the undo shipment
  5. Select enable undo shipment

Now select the length of the cooling-off period should be. The possibilities are 5, 10, 20 and 30 seconds, and although none of them provide special much time, it is amazing how much one can achieve to make, and not at least think of, in the course of 30 seconds:

Scroll a little downward, click Save changes at the bottom of the page … and you’re done!

You can test if it works right away. Click the write new button, type a small mail to yourself and click on Send. At the top of the page there will be a line above where it says: “Your message has been sent. Undo. View message “. If you are quick enough, press Undo and Gmail notifies you of that dispatch is interrupted.

Of course, it is not at all difficult! Just remember to activate this option, then you are prepared the next time you step in the spinach!
We cross fingers for that you should not use cancel button particularly often, but it’s good to know that you can, if you’re going to have it!

Leave a Reply